Iowa Hawkeyes men’s basketball

The Iowa Hawkeyes men’s basketball team represents the University of Iowa at Iowa City, Iowa, as a Part of the Big Ten Conference and the National Collegiate Athletic Association.

Coach Fran McCaffery is the present head coach, and has been at Iowa.
The Hawkeyes won the Big Ten championship twice, won eight Big Ten regular-season conference championships and have played in 26 NCAA Tournaments, eight NIT Tournaments. Iowa has played in the Final Four on three events, reaching the semifinals in 1955 and 1980 and playing in the championship game against the University of San Francisco in 1956.
Iowa basketball was broadly successful in the 1970s, 1980s, and 1990s using a program resurgence under Lute Olson and the tenures of both George Raveling and Tom Davis. Under Olson, the Hawkeyes won their final regular season championship and went into the 1980 Final Four.
They play 15,400-seat Carver-Hawkeye Arena, together with Iowa women’s basketball, wrestling, and volleyball teams.
Prior to playing in Carver-Hawkeye Arena, which started in 1983,[6] that the Hawkeyes played in the Iowa Armory and the Iowa Field House, which is still used today by the institution’s gymnastics teams. Before losing to rival Northern Iowa, in 2006, the Hawkeyes gathered a school-record 21 successive wins at home.
Four Iowa coaches have been inducted into the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame: Sam Barry, Ralph Miller, Lute Olson and George Raveling.

Read more:

Share:Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on RedditShare on StumbleUponShare on Google+Share on LinkedInShare on TumblrEmail this to someone